The Seven Signs You’re No Longer in Your Early Twenties…

Last week, I bid a sad farewell to something that has brought me much joy throughout my life… something that has been a comfort, a treat, a staple and a convenience… pasta, my friend, it’s time we went out separate ways.

I had been fighting it for months, refusing to accept that the crippling pain in my stomach was directly related to the wheaty goodness I had just eaten but after dealing the horrific possibility that I may have had to say goodbye to cheese, I (reluctantly) accepted my fate, and with it, I had a shocking realization… I was not just, after twenty-something years, slightly intolerant to something… I was getting old.

So I started Googling the ‘Seven Signs of Ageing’ that the make up commercials warn me of… I don’t wear make up, so the ads were all I had to go on.

But, being in my late twenties, the signs, which include wrinkles, pores, blotches, dullness, unevenness, tone issues (not the vocal kind – there’s no saving them!) and dryness, weren’t very applicable… I mean, don’t we all get wrinkly, dry and a bit blotchy every now and then? Most often following a night passed out on the bathroom floor after too much Chandon Rose?

I had a think about what’s changed over the past few years. Sure, I can’t bounce back from a night out like I used to, I no longer approach things with the blind optimism of a teenager and having a mortgage is a fortnightly reminder of being a full-fledged grown-up, but I realized that I do have seven regular reminders that I have, most definitely, left my youth behind…

Sign 1 – The evil bloat

For me, it was pasta, but the evil bloat can be caused by a range of foods and drinks normally associated with happiness and joy… cheese, wine, pizza, beer and cider to name just a few. At one point I remember being keeled over on the bathroom floor, actually thinking I was either dying, on the brink of an appendix explosion, or pregnant.

The first theory proved incorrect when I was still alive the next day, the second didn’t match the Google explanation of where my appendix were actually located and the third was quickly shut down by my friend who told me Jesus would not consider me a good candidate for an immaculate conception.

Alas, I had experienced the evil bloat and there was no going back.

Sign 2 – Discussion of the evil bloat

I know, I know, I’m kind of throwing myself into this one by even writing this post, but I was out with a group of girls my age a few weeks ago and in the midst of a fun night of wine and celebration, the conversation actually came to a discussion of food intolerances and stomach bloating.

For a good ten minutes, I was totally engrossed in the conversation until I stopped and took a long, hard look at myself… oh, the shame!

Sign 3 – Physio visits more than once a month or two

This time a year ago, I had never even been to a physio, now I find myself there so often that my physio knows more about my life than most of my friends do.

The other day we had an awkward moment when, mid-consultation she questioned why I had a line of black ink down my chest… I refused to tell her, she was persistent, I wasn’t budging and things got awkward. I think she felt betrayed… as a result, my shoulders are just going to have to sort themselves out for a few months!

Sign 4 – Fear of fluorescent lighting

Quite possibly one of the worst inventions ever, in recent years I have had numerous run-ins with fluorescent lighting, many of which led to at least ten minutes of horror, realising that overnight I had become a pasty, wrinkly mess before realising that I do not actually resemble a corpse and the lightling is just messing with my head… I swear to destroy you one day, fluorescent lighting…

Sign 5 – Regretting those personalised number plates I got when I was 21

Not because people might assume that I am a bit of a bogan, but because they’re clearly stating your year of birth… and I know, I have absolutely no excuse for driving like this at my age… but if you just gave way to me whenever I tied to cut in, we wouldn’t have a problem, would we?

Sign 6 – I have no idea how to download music

Being someone who works with social media and manages websites and databases at work, I have absolutely no excuse for this, but I honestly have no idea how to download music… or movies… or tv shows.I STILL buy the box sets when they are released.

I do, however, have fond memories of Napster and Limewire and when you’d be halfway through belting out Whitney Houston’s ‘I wanna dance with somebody’ when full-bore white noise would scare the crap out of you and you’d nearly crash your car… ah, those were the days!

Sign 7 – Finding yourself muttering ‘Ah, the kids these days…’

Yep, I know… What have I BECOME???

3 comments

  1. tomwisk

    Don’t sweat it. Been there, done that, got a Tshirt. With age comes a whole new set of trials and tribulations. You’ll either learn how to adapt or beat them. Look at the long haul, you’re gonna reach a point where you’ll watch some twenty-something about to screw up to the max and think about offering your sage advice. Then you think “Screw’em let them figure it out their own.” And sit down and enjoy a pleasant beverage.

  2. anonymousy

    I’m turning 30 this year and I can’t wait. Sure, maybe things are changing. Just like you, I probably need to make some changes to my diet (Oh but why? Carbs are my friends!). I will have to deal with that loss.

    But not all changes are bad though, the men I meet now actually call when they say they will, tell me they care about me and seem to know what they’re doing in the bedroom. I’ve spent most of the decade feeling like a complete idiot..it’s only the last couple years where I’ve said “Ok, maybe I’m ready to be a grown-up now.” I’m looking forward to more grownup times and I hope you do too…..keep up the great blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

